Important Dates
General Information
About Kuwait
About KCS
Useful Links
Contact Us
KCC 2010: Schedule

17:00 - 20:00

Reception (Al-Jahara Hall) & Registration (Al-Salhiya Hall)

Note: Those who have not prepaid the registration fee by bank transfer can pay the required registration fee (poster participants (US$ 400)) and accompanying persons (US$ 300) at the hotel at the time of check-in. Please produce receipt at the registration counter.

 Session I

09:00 - 10:30

Official Opening

10:30 - 11:00

Tea/Coffee Break

11:00 - 12:00

Chairperson: Professor Nouria Al-Awadi
Co-Chairperson: Dr. Duha Al-Waheeb

Opening Lecture
Professor Nicole Jeanne Moreau
(President, IUPAC, France)
IUPAC Advancing Worldwide Chemistry

12:00 - 12:40

Plenary Lecture 1
Dr. Alan Smith
(Managing Director, AZTECH, U.K.)
The impact of Nanotechnology on the Chemical Sector

12:40 - 14:00




 Session II

14:00 - 14:40

Chairperson: Professor Nader Al-Jalal
Co-Chairperson: Dr. Bakir Jerag

Plenary Lecture 2
Professor Ali Katrib
(Kuwait University, Kuwait)
New Molybdenum and Tungsten Bifunctional Catalysis in Oil Industry

14:40 - 15:10

Invited Lecture 1
Mr. Abdul Hadi Al-Ajmi
(EQUATE, Kuwait)
Environment Management And Product Stewardship

15.10 - 15.40

Tea/Coffee Break



 Session III

15:40 - 16:10

Chairperson: Professor Nadia Shuaib
Co-Chairperson: Dr. Fakreia Al-Sagheer

Invited Lecture 2
Dr. Sujatha Devi
(Central Glass & Ceramic Research Institute, India)
Functional Nanomaterials for Fuel Cell and Sensor Applications

16:10 - 16:30

Oral Presentation 1
Dr. Andrew Wright
(Thermo Fisher Scientific, East Grinstead, UK)
Surface and thin film chemical characterization of environment and energy-related materials

16:30 - 16:50

Oral Presentation 2
Dr. Amal Al-Rashdan
(Kuwait Institute for Scientific Research, Kuwait)
Determination of the levels of polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons in Bread consumed in Kuwait

16:50 - 17:10

Oral Presentation 3
Professor Najmadin Azizi
(Chemistry and Chemical Engineering Research Center of Iran)
Synthetic Application Of 1,2-Diketones: Versatile And Practical Synthesis Of Imidazoles, Indolo [3,2, A] Carbazoles And Oxazoles Derivetives In Methanol Under Mild Reaction Conditions

17:10 - 17:30

Oral Presentation 4
Dr. P. S. Harkrishnan
(Madura College, University of Madurai, India)
A solvent- and catalyst free microwave-assisted green synthesis of ethyl 2-oxo/thio-4-aryl-6-(arylsulfonylmethyl)-1,2,3,4-tetrahydropyrimidine-5-carboxylates

 Session IV

09:00 - 09:40

Chairperson: Dr. Abdul Aziz Al-Najjar
Co-Chairperson: Ms. Khalida M. Al-Dalama

Plenary Lecture 3
Dr. Ajayaghosh
(National Institute for Interdisciplinary Science and Technology, India)
The Chemistry and Applications of Self-assembled Functional Molecules

9:40 - 10:10

Invited Lecture 3
Dr. Nancy B. Jackson
(President 2010, American Chemical Society)
Sunshine To Petrol

10:10 - 10:30

Tea/Coffee Break

10:30 - 11:00

Invited Lecture 4
Professor Zahoor Ahmed
(Kuwait University)
Organic-inorganic Nano-composites: Biometic Designing

11:00 - 11:20

Oral Presentation 5
Dr. Bernard West
(Westworks Consulting Limited, Canada)
Industrial Awareness and Responsible Care



 Session V

11.30 - 13.00

Judges: Professor Osman El-Dusouqui, Dr. Alan Smith & Dr. A. Ajayaghosh

13:00 - 14:00




 Session VI

14:00 - 14:40

Chairperson: Prof. Ahmed Ali Karimi
Co-Chairperson: Dr. Saleh Al-Mousawi

Plenary Lecture 4
Professor Jung Il-Jin
(University of Korea,Iimmediate past president, IUPAC, Korea)
Magnetic Properties of Natural and Modified DNAs

14:40 - 15:10

Invited Lecture 5
Professor Jean Francois Doussin
(The Inter University Laboratory of Atmospheric Systems, France)
Chemical reactivity and aerosol forming potential of somes anthropic Volatile Organic Compounds

15:10 - 15:40

Tea/Coffee Break



 Session VII

15:40 - 16:10

Chairperson: Dr. Hassan Al-Rabiah
Co-Chairperson: Dr. Amal Al-Azmi

Invited Lecture 6
Professor Ahmed Galal
(University of Cairo-Egypt)
Nano-structured perovskites for clean and facile production of hydrogen

16:10 - 16:30

Oral Presentation 6
Dr. Alya M. Al-Etaibi
(Public Authority for Applied Education and Training, Kuwait)
4-Hydroxyphenylazopyrazole-5-Amines As Antibacterial Disperse Dyes For Polyesters

16:30 - 16:50

Oral Presentation 7
Dr. Ikhtiar Ahmed
(The University of the South Pacific, Fiji Islands)
Effectiveness Of Used Tea Leaves As Adsorbent For The Removal Of Heavy Metals From Waste Water.

16:50 - 17:10

Oral Presentation 8
Dr. Zuriati Zakaria
(University Kebangsaan Malaysia, Bangi, Malaysia)
Additives For The Reduction Of Pour Point Of Palm Oil Methyl Esters

17:10 - 17:30

Oral Presentation 9
Dr. H. Haba
(Université de Batna, Algeria)
Chemical Composition Of Euphorbia Retusa (Euphorbiaceae)


Dinner Banquette

 Session VIII

09:00 - 09:40

Chairperson: Dr. Lulwa Nasser Ali
Co-Chairperson: Dr. Othman Al-Fulaij

Plenary Lecture 5
Professor A. N. Al-Ghadban
(Kuwait Institute for Scientific Research, Kuwait)
Radionuclide Concentrations in Kuwait's Marine Environment

09:40 - 10:10

Invited Lecture 7
Dr. A.A. Clifford
(University of Leeds, U.K.)
Processes in Superheated water

10.10 - 10.40

Tea/Coffee Break



 Session IX

10:40 - 11:10

Chairperson: Dr. Mohamed Hasan
Co-Chairperson: Dr. Talal F.Azmi

Invited Lecture 8
Professor Belkheir Hammouti
(Laboratory of Applied Chemistry & Environment, Morocco)
Comparative study of new pyridazine derivatives towards corrosion of copper in nitric acid

11:10 - 11:40

Invited Lecture 9
Professor Keith Hall
(The Manchester University, U.K)
The new ionisation methodologies in Mass Spectroscopy, applied to the Environmental, Petrochemical, Pharmaceutical and Industrial applications.

11:40 - 12:00

Oral Presentation 10
Professor A. Al-Arifi
(King Saud University, Riyadh, Saudi Arabia)
Crude Oil Enhances Recovery From (Crude-Oil/ Water/ Surfactant) Microemulsion

12:00 - 12:20

Oral Presentation 11
Professor Kamal Sadek
(Minia University, Egypt.)
A simple, three component, highly efficient green synthesis of thiazolo-[3,2-a]pyridine derivatives under neat conditions

12:20 - 14:00




 Session X

14:00 - 14:40

Chairperson: Professor Abdul Hadi Bu-Olayan
Co-Chairperson: Dr. Saad Makseed

Plenary Lecture 6
Professor Saad Hasan
(Ain Shams University, Egypt)
Recent Development and Modern Trends in Analytical Chemistry

14:40 - 15:10

Invited Lecture 10
Professor Mikhail M. Krayushkin
(Russian Academy of Sciences, Russia)
Compounds of three-dimentional optical memory.

15:10 - 15:40

Tea/Coffee Break



 Session XI

15:40 - 16:10

Chairperson: Dr. Hayat Marafie
Co-Chairperson: Dr. Ali Bu-Majdad

Invited Lecture 11
Professor Abdullah Mohammed Ahmed Asiri
(King Abdulaziz University, K.S.A)
Photochromism of some Fulgides and spiropyrans in polymer matrices

16:10 - 16:30

Oral Presentation 12
Dr. Khadijah M. Al-Zaydi
(King Abdul-Aziz University, K.S.A)
A simplified green chemistry approaches to synthesis of 2-substituted 1,2,3-triazoles and 4-amino-5-cyanopyrazole derivatives conventional heating versus microwave and ultrasound as ecofriendly energy sources

16:30 - 16:50

Oral Presentation 13
Dr. S. Tantayanon
(Green Chemistry Research Lab, Department of Chemistry, Faculty of Science, Chulalongkorn University, Bangkok, Thailand)
The Effect Of Steam On Dry Reforming Of Methane Over Ni/Cezro2


Closing Ceremony


14:00 - 17:00

Chemical Industries Panel discussion




09:00 - 17:00

Committee Meeting On Chemistry and Industry
(The meeting is for members of: Committee On Chemistry and Industry)


All rights reserved Kuwait Conference of Chemistry 2010